Sixth Time’s The Charm!

If you’ve seen My Cousin Vinny, then you’ll get the tittle of today’s post.  If you haven’t then you should, it’s classic, plus Karate Kid is all grown up in it.  Just for fun though, here’s one of my favorite quotes from that movie:mycousinvinny1. But you graduated law school six years ago… what have you been doing since? 2. Studying. For the bar. 3. That’s a lot of studying. 2. Well, to be honest with you, I didn’t pass it my first time out. 1. That’s ok, you probably passed it the second time. 2. Nope. 3. Third time’s the charm? 2. Not for me it wasn’t. For me, six times was the charm.”

It’s a funny movie and I won’t try to explain it because I could never do Joe Pesci justice!  Still the moral of that little excerpt is that steady persistence in a course of action, no matter how long that course may take you, will eventually yield results.  Hence, cousin Vinny kept writing the bar and became a lawyer on his sixth attempt, and I have been working diligently on real push-ups and now on my 6th session can finally do them!  To some people this might not seem like a big deal, but for me, it’s a huge milestone!  It’s been a long time since I’ve been strong enough to lift my own weight like that.  I can do them in sets of twelve, so now I just hope that I can actually do them come training time today.

On Today’s Menu:

  • Ironman
  • Hip Extensions
  • Squats
  • Side Lunges
  • One Legged Deadlifts
  • Swings
  • Some ab exercises I try to forget
  • Push-ups (Today I tell RubySlippers that I’m finally ready to try real ones, and she says ok let’s see them.  So on her count we start 1,2,3,4…12, then I hear “Girl I’m impressed, good job!”  )
  • So proud of myself and dead from the push-ups that I can’t even remember the rest

Reps per set:     IIII IIII II-ish, Jedi mind tricks I tell ya!

Sets: III-ish

Favorite words of the day: #ok take a break (luv hearing this!) #Wait I can’t find a pen (just makes me laugh) #good ninja!

Side Effects:  #Sweating profusely #hard work is paying off #dying again #not as much crying on the inside # longest week of my life! #I can do real push-ups #next goal is RubySlippers kind of push-ups

Pros:  #weights magically get heavier #muscles still sore but stronger  #No Walking Dead chat #Today we reminisce about good music, boy bands, and of course SNL! #RubbySlippers knows her SNL! (Some re-enactment involved) # Lauging so hard that I can’t do jumping chin-ups, must take a break #And yes, it hurts! #post-workout invite to next Monday’s Chiseled class…taught by RubySlippers #I’m scared! #No more high 5’s because we cool, we stronger, we graduate to fist bumps now!fistbumpobama

Cons:  There R no Cons in #training hard

Note to self: Prepare mentally for Monday night’s class

Post-Workout:  Running sprints episode I… to be continued…

Leave a Reply

