Well Alice, “…so long as I get somewhere”

This morning as I force myself to walk down the road to the gym, I feel like Alice lost in Oz, following the yellow brick road and hoping to catch a glimpse of the elusive wizard, so he can grant me the wish of making my favorite cookie zero calories.  Too bad I already know the wizard is a fraud, and that if I want to eat that cookie on Sunday, I’ll have to work my butt off to earn it.

alice4In case you’re wondering, no, it’s not a mistake, I know it was Dorothy in Oz and not Alice, but I like Alice better.  She’s got such a vivid imagination, that had she read the Wizard of Oz, she would have been running down that yellow brick road and not falling down some rabbit hole.  It’s also easier to identify with Alice because she knows what it’s like to battle with sizes.  Sometimes she’s too big, too small, not quite right, it’s certainly not easy being her, and I totally get that this morning.  Then again all of her issues, like mine, might have something to do with the terrible little habit of eating all sorts of things we shouldn’t… Yet there is hope for us, because we make friends along the way who make our journey interesting, and we’re not afraid to swim, walk, run and even try croquet if the occasion calls for it.alice1

Still, as much work and fun as the adventure may seem, at the end of the day, Alice like Dorothy each had a goal in mind and so should we.  My personal end goal is to be fit, stronger, faster, and still be able to eat guilt-free cookies on Sundays, but that’s not my only goal, otherwise I would probably have thrown in the towel a while ago.  I know because it’s happened before, so this time I’ve learned from my mistakes and set up a number of smaller goals for myself.  Some more challenging than others, but ultimately they are all achievable.  Each time I reach a certain goal it gives me a sense of accomplishment and gives me that extra push to keep training harder!  I also remind myself that the end result I’m training for won’t happen overnight and that’s ok, I’ll eventually get there one pound at a time.

My friend's one cookie rule advice...

My friend’s one cookie rule advice…

So if you’re feeling bad about over-eating one day, or going over your WW points for the day or not meeting whatever your goal was for the day, Don’t!  It’s just one day, and just one cookie right?  It’s done anyway, and the best thing you can do is accept it and move on.  Do better tomorrow.  Set more realistic goals, and write things down to keep yourself accountable.

Here are a few things that have helped me and perhaps might be of help to you.

Stuff I write down:

  • Workouts (RubySlippers keeps a PT journal for me, and I keep one of the things I do alone)
  • Workout days (I draw a great big X on my calendar on each day that I workout, it also serves as a countdown to Sundays)
  • What I eat (It’s shocking how easy it is to overeat, this helps me stay on top of things)
  • What I drink (liquid calories add up too, oh Dr. Pepper why must you be so sugary!)
  • My weight (Once a week, on the same scale at the gym and I write it on my calendar)
  • My goal for the week (scribbled on my calendar too)
  • Achievements (i.e. personal bests. I also jot these down as they happen on my calendar)

Some of my Goals:

  • Give up soda
  • Juice my own juice no added sugar
  • Drink more water
  • Stick to one cheat meal a week
  • Eat smaller portions
  • Eat more greens
  • Give up bread
  • If you must have bread then Walk to the bakery (a long walk might stop the bread craving)
  • Switch to Greek Yogurt
  • Switch to protein pancakes
  • Switch to a low carb/sugar syrup
  • Switch to natural peanut butter
  • Make my own protein bars
  • Workout at least 5 times a week
  • Go for a swim at least once a week
  • Walk to the gym
  • Try a new class
  • Attempt one-legged push-ups
  • Lose one pound a week
  • Go to bed earlier
  • Get up earlier
  • Eat out less

Keep in mind that we are all different so some things might not apply to you, but you can always switch things around to make them relevant to your own goals. These are just examples of things I jot down to keep myself on track. I personally find it motivating to see that by the end of the month both my calendar and workout journal are rather full, and that the eating journal sections progressively gets smaller and greener. What’s important is that you find ways to fuel your motivation each day.  Set yourself up for success by establishing achievable short term goals because in the end, it’s all these small goals that will get you across that finish line.

Well that’s my two cents for today, now it’s time to get ready for Zumba!  If you haven’t tried it out yet, you should.  If you find the right class for you, you’ll have so much fun that you’ll ask yourself why you hadn’t joined the party sooner 😉

4 thoughts on “Well Alice, “…so long as I get somewhere”

  1. I discovered your “Well Alice, &” page and noticed you could have a lot more traffic. I have found that the key to running a website is making sure the visitors you are getting are interested in your subject matter. There is a company that you can get traffic from and they let you try it for free. I managed to get over 300 targetted visitors to day to my website.

Leave a Reply

