May The 4th B With U!

maythe4thbewithuYes, finally it’s rest day! I’ve been training hard all week, and working diligently on curving my cravings for sweets, and finally I’m a day closer to Sunday, my favorite day!  I won’t lie, eating better is a huge struggle for me, but I’m not giving up on myself because I know I can do it.  It’s just taking a little longer than I expected…

tbbtsuperheroes2But today is rest day and I’ve decided not to dwell on my failings for today.  Instead I’m focusing on the beautiful weather we are finally having, and getting ready for comic book day.  Yes, I’m a big nerd, hence the title of today’s post, sorry I couldn’t help it!  But no worries, it’s ok now that The Big Bang Theory is out, we’re cool again yo!  That being said, today I get to skip the gym and let my body rest, so that my aching muscles can recover, and as a bonus I get to rummage through comics and see what my fave heroes are up to.

Jeans, T-shirt, chucks, baseball cap and off we go!  Because most of the comic book shops are downtown, we bus it down there and walk from one shop to the next.  The boys are also on the look-out for some rare Yu Gi Oh and Magic cards, but I have long since given up on cards and board games, so I roam freely through the comic aisles.  These comic shops are like a time travel vortex to my childhood, here I’m surrounded by star wars, D&D, Spidey and all the adventures in my dad’s comics.  Some people think they are silly, but to me it’s where my love for reading took its first steps, where my imagination learned to soar to great heights, and most importantly it’s a reminder of what an amazing dad I have.

I leaf through The Sandman and it reminds me of long ago and of a very special person in my life who tragically left this world too soon.  It’s easy to get sad over those we miss, but at the end of the day it’s easier to move forward if we choose to remember the happy memories they left us and how our life was enriched by the time we shared in this life… It’s funny how the mind works, how it stores and retrieves memories, so as I set The Sandman back on the shelf, I pick a happy memory and smile.  I choose to believe in God, heaven, angels, and universal kindness, and find comfort in the idea that my friend is up there somewhere laughing his wings off at the particular memory I’ve chosen to playback in my mind.[000300]

I resume my browsing and in the end I settle for The Walking Dead comic.  It seems like such a long wait till the new season in the fall so I might as well catch up on the comic.  After our morning of comics overload, we decide to stop for some grub before calling it a day.  It’s been a long time since we’ve had the opportunity to trek through comic book land together, and hopefully we’ll get to do it again many times before any of us runs out of tomorrows.

The funny thing about my “rest day” today is that although I took a day off from the gym, I’ve nonetheless been on the move all day.  My legs and feet are tired, but my mind has them under control, and we’re not leaving till I’m all nerded-out for the day!  All this walking and comic shopping has definitely put a dent in my rotting on the couch time.  I think I might just have to make up for it by calling it an early night and catching up on some Zees.

Note to You:

If you’re training hard it’s important to give yourself a day or two to recover.  Your muscles will be grateful and more willing to train harder when you get back to the grind.  A rest day doesn’t mean that you have to rot on your couch, you can if you want to, but there’s so much living to be done that maybe you’d be better off taking a walk, going on a hike, catching a movie or just chillin on a patio somewhere with a friend or family.  So take it easy on your rest day, be kind, remember to reach out to those you love, keep moving, living and loving what you do because you never know how many tomorrows you’ll get!

Leave a Reply

