La vita è bella

It’s such a beautiful day!  I find it hard to not just want to skip and sing all the way to the skating rink this morning.  I’ve got my chucks on and one big Latin party going on in my headset with Shakira, Xtina, Trevi, Juanes and my boy Ricky just jammin away! The feel of warm sunshine on my skin, this campus, the music, and so many fond memories of my youth spent here make me smile.  My life has had its ups and downs, but today in this moment I’m thankful that I’ve live through it all, and I choose to focus on the good times.  The struggles, the falls, the scrapes, the heartbreaks and everything in-between have helped me become the person I am today…A little jaded around the edges, slightly sarcastic, sometimes medium-bad, but a dreamer and a hopeless romantic at heart 😉

Love is everywhere...

Love is everywhere…

Years ago I broke my leg, and was sentenced to five weeks in a neon hot pink cast.  I can still remember the frustration I felt at not being able to do simple things on my own, but more importantly I remember knowing then and there who my true friends were.  I was so far from my family and home, but they were there for me and became my wonderful adoptive family; sisters and brothers from another mother.  Through the pain of learning to use my crutches, tantrums, and the ever so painful recovery they pushed and even carried me at times.  Every little thing they did for me and every ounce of kindness they bestowed upon me is all the proof I need to know that there is a God of boundless love out there watching over me. I know all too well that the world can be a cold and cruel place at time, but I also know that if you keep your chin up and look beyond all the darkness, like Mr. Rogers’ mom said you’ll see the helpers.  Amazing people like my closest and dearest friends, who’ll help and love you even on your most unlovable days.Mr.Rogers

So today as I sit here lacing up my skates, I am thankful for my life, my family, my friends, and the opportunity I get every day to get better and screw-up a little less.  We often take the simple things in life for granted, things such as being able to walk, talk, see, hear and live freely, things that many wish they had.  So next time you’re feeling down on your luck, stop for a moment, take a deep breath and look around you, and then and there be thankful because somewhere, there is someone who wishes they could see what you’ve just seen.  Your life is a gift, it may not be perfect, and it might not be easy, but as long as you live and breathe, there is always hope and a chance for you to make it better for you and those around you.helping hand

As for me, well I’ve got my skates, gloves, helmet and am off to do a few laps around the ice.  I can see some of the track athletes running laps on the indoor track around the rink, and it amuses me to skate faster and watch some of them try to outrun me…Dudes, as if, I’ve got my skate going on today!  After a few laps some smile, chuckle and wave because they know we’re racing, and because we all know there’s no way I’d beat them if I came off the ice.  But who knows, I’ve been practicing my running sprints, so maybe one of these days I’ll bring my Nikes and give it a go.  I’m sure we could all use a good laugh 😉

Game Plan For The Rest Of The Day:

  • Get skates sharpened
  • Drink plenty of water
  • Stop thinking about that 5 week-old Ferrero Rocher in the fruit bowl
  • 4 reps of 30 Swings
  • 7 rounds of stairs
  • Survive Interval Box class

Note 2U:

What is your game plan for today?  What will you do to be a better you today?  It’s as easy as taking a walk, doing some squats, or even a few 30 second planks.  If you’re on Facebook then challenge yourself, try five push-ups for every post you ‘Like’ or ‘comment’ and five crunches for every one you ‘post’ or ‘share’.  If you’re really adventurous then do a squat for every “friend” you have on Facebook and maybe you’ll reconsider a few 😉  Take the first step to a stronger, faster you.  Do it for you, and no matter how tough it gets, don’t let yourself give up!  Put some music on, turn the volume up and power through the burn, your mind will give up many times, but don’t listen to it because your body is stronger than you think.  It’s like RubySlippers says “You’ve got this!!!”

8 thoughts on “La vita è bella

  1. I found your weblog site on google and examine a couple of of one’s early posts. Continue to keep up the superb operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Seeking ahead to reading much more from you later on on!…

  2. Pingback: 手機保護套

  3. These days, it is not easy to locate unique and original articles, especially on informational content. This short article is all that; distinctive, original and informative. Thanks for working difficult to write original material for this subject.

  4. Pingback: iphone行動電源

Leave a Reply

