Too School For Cool

By now you’ve probably caught on to the fact that I’m a big fan of The Walking Dead, Star Wars, The Big Bang Theory and such… Ok so maybe I’m a bit of a nerd and a big kid at heart, but that’s ok.  It’s fine really, although I have some Nike and Under Armour gear, I choose to wear alternative graphic Tees to my workouts.  These t-shirts may or may not have superheroes or angry birds on them, but hey I like them and they liven up my gym going experience so whatevs!  It’s not unlikely that Rubyslippers chuckles at the sight of some of them or looks and says “Let’s see what’s on your shirt today?” and yes so do random strangers at the gym, although some are a little creepy, and get too close for my comfort, just saying… Still my graphic shirts and I are now part of my daily workouts at the gym which are now part of my “normal”.readshirtI never thought the day would come when I would think of going to the gym as an everyday thing like brushing my teeth or having breakfast.  I guess that’s what they mean by habit.  Finally I acquired a good one! Now if I could only get into the habit of not craving a cookie every single day… oh wait, can’t do that, then I’d have to change the name of my blog, and then what would I call it???

So in keeping with the theme of “normality”, and since I already did a crazy circuit at Chiseled this week, we shall work on my upper body today.

 On Today’s Menu:

  •  Shoulder Press
  • Hammer Curls
  • Skull Crushers
  • Push Press
  • BB Curls
  • Lateral raises
  • For the life of me I can’t make out the rest of RubySlippers writing. I need an app for this!

Reps:  Start @ IIII  IIII II, then as RubySlippers switches my weights out to heavier ones(stealth mode but I know what you’re up to), we switch to Max reps 

Rounds Completed: IIII

Favorite words of the day: #Take a break (yep, it’s back @#1)

Side Effects:  #I feel the burn #Worth it! #Taking the whole week-end off 2C old friends

Pros:  #Level 5 Complete! #The Walking Dead- The Governor is batsh*t crazy #We vote Ricktocracy, he sees ghost, meh, not so bad considering the dead are walking!  #RubySlippers says running sprints will help me not be last @Chiseled suicide runs #Might also save me from herd of Walkersricktocracy

Cons:  #Cons are for those who don’t train hard!

Post-Workout:  Running sprints because my arms are on a rowing strike today

Note to self:  ”But what would I wear?” to a week-end with great plans and no schedule

Last Thoughts:  If there were to be a Zombie Apocalypse, please, please, please let it not be this week-end!

Note 2U:

Come rain, come shine or Zombie Apocalypse it’s always a good day to train hard.  Get out there, enjoy the company of those you love, surround yourself with positive people.  Invite positive change into your life, embrace it and work hard for what you want!  We often spend so much time complaining about the things that go wrong in our lives and not enough time doing something to change things around.

If you’re unhappy with life as you know it and or with the way you are right now, then you have option A and B.  Option A is easy just stay the same, and keep wallowing in self-pity because nothing changes if nothing changes.  Or, you can pick option B and suck it up, put your big girl/boy pants on, lace-up and get moving!  Changes won’t just fall into your lap as you rot on your couch, you’ve got to shake things up a little, train hard and believe me, in the end, every drop of sweat, every tear, every ache and pain will be worth it!

You are stronger than you think, you’ll get stronger than you ever imagined, and you deserve option B, we all do.  So suck it up buttercup and just do it!  Because like RubySlippers says “You’ve got this!!!”

Leave a Reply

