4 AM

It’s been a long time coming but finally spring is here!  The weather has been so unpredictable lately that I’m afraid to look out the window, for fear that my deck might be covered with snow again.  But I slowly take a quick peek through the blinds and smile at all the green I see.  It’s not every day that I’m up this early, although my internal alarm has the annoying habit of waking up at 4:00 am, I’ve become well versed in the art of fake-sleep.  Which means I basically lie there eyes closed trying to drift back into sleep or at the very least find reasons not to crawl out of bed as such a ghastly hour.fourToday, however, my bed had other plans, and it spit me out at 5:00 am, so here I am typing away, and seriously considering going for an early swim.  What else is there to do so early, when even the sun is still enjoying his morning coffee and lounging around in the horizon?  Coffee, now there’s an idea, it’s a shame I don’t drink any, I imagine it would probably taste great right about now.  At this point I guess there’s no point in over-thinking things, there’s only one thing left for me to do, and that is to put my Nikes on and head to the pool.

swimmuscles

This is why we swim

On Today’s Menu:

  • Swimming

Side Effects:

#soothing warm salt water #visualizing my next vacation

Pros:

#muscles feel nice and relaxed #clears my mind

Cons:

#No real Cons #If only there was good music playing while I swim

Post-Workout:

#0.9 Km jog home…it’s a brisk 5 degrees out and my mind says this body was not made for running, my muscles and burning lungs agree, but I just saw Iron Man 3 for the second time last night so to all those parts of me complaining I say “You know who I am” so “F*#k U, I’m Iron Man!” now run!

Ok, so Iron Man only motivates me half-way there and then as I jog through this sleepy Woodbury-ish suburban neighborhood I imagine zombies & that gets my legs going for the rest of the way.

running zombiesNote to YOU:

If your excuse for not working out today is the lack of time, then ask yourself if you have one minute or maybe five?  Surely if you have time to read this then you have at least 1 to 5minutes right?  So use them to time yourself for one minute rounds and see how many crunches you can do, or squats or if you’re more adventurous give burpees a go for a minute.  Whatever you do, don’t make excuses, dig deep for motivation, visualize what you want to achieve and take action.  Challenge yourself each day and work hard to beat every personal-best record you set.  Your life will benefit from it, so just do it!

Last Thoughts:

I need a J.A.R.V.I.S!  But since I don’t have one yet, I’ll have to make my Strawberry and Banana Coconut milk smoothie myself…I can almost taste the happiness!

Leave a Reply

