Channel Your Iron Man

I will try my very best, not to give away any Iron Man 3 spoilers in my upcoming post, but I make no promises, because I really loved the movie!  So naturally I want to talk about how cool it is, and how cool Iron Man is overall as a super hero.  Yes, like a friend/hater I know says, he’s a guy in a tin, but hey it’s a pretty awesome tin!  I have to admit when the first Iron Man came out I was a little skeptical because I’m not a big Robert Downey Jr. fan, however I have since changed my mind.  RDJ has done a great job at breathing life into the Iron Man franchise.  He’s funny, sarcastic, smart, a bit of a jerk on the outside, but deep down a big softy when it comes to the ones he loves, so all in all he’s pretty human which is great.ironman3

I love the idea of super-heroes with super powers just as much as the next nerd, but there’s something about a regular guy, albeit usually rich, just going out there and making the world a better and safer place that I find double-awesome!  Batman, Iron Man, The Punisher and Daredevil to name a few, are all examples of peak human beings, and that is what makes them super.  They each have their own back story and baggage, as do we all, but it doesn’t stop them from training hard to move forward and help others.  I think that perhaps this is something we could all learn from.

Keep in mind that we don’t all peak in our twenties, but that doesn’t mean the window has closed on us.  It simply means that we’re late bloomers, but the opportunity is still there, so why not jump on it!  Granted, we might not have the Wayne or Stark fortune, but that doesn’t mean we can’t excel like them.  Remember that the human mind and body are capable of amazing things, but in order to peak they both need to be trained, stimulated and maintained.  That old saying if you don’t use it you lose it is not far from the truth, so if you’re just used to sitting around and not doing much your body will easily resent any added activity, not because it can’t do it, but because it’s not use to it.  The beginning is usually the hardest part, so maybe you don’t want to be a super-hero but wouldn’t it be great to at least be as strong as one?  Really, who doesn’t want abs of steel and a chiseled body that would look good with or without tights?

So get up, stop making excuses and get moving!  It’s time to get your Iron Man on!  Tell the rest of your body, that you’re taking control back, that there will be no more slacking, no more I’ll start tomorrow, because in all honesty you don’t ever really know if you’ll get a new tomorrow.  Love yourself enough to be your own super-hero, you don’t need super-powers, all you need is you and the super-determination to see your life-style transformation through.  You are human, you’ll have ups and downs, sometimes you’ll wallow and brood, but you’ll pull yourself together and get back on track, because it’s really not that cool unless it’s done in a bat-cave…and, well, uh, Batman doesn’t play well with others, so you kinda can’t crash at his.

So, bat-cave or no bat-cave, this is your time, your one life to live, so live it well!  Seize every opportunity you come across, and don’t be afraid to fail or fall, learn from each failure, pick yourself up from each fall, rise up wiser and stronger!  Dig deep, find inspiration and strength it’s there, you were born with it.  If you’re having trouble finding it, join a gym, a running clinic, a CrossFit box, talk to your family and friends about it, join a fitness forum online or blog about it like I do, because if you’re willing to look around you, you’re bound to find encouragement and support somewhere.  Most importantly start moving!  When your body complains, just borrow a line from your fave super-hero and tell your mind and body who is boss now!  I personally like Iron Man’s “You know who I am” and “F#<k U, I’m Iron Man!” but that’s just me a sleep deprived, cookies craving Cookie Fiend whose body thinks it can give up, but won’t while I’m in charge!superheroes

There are a lot of super-heroes out there, so if you don’t know any, then dabble in nerd world, it’s ok nobody has to know it’s ok just hush and let it happened 😉 But no seriously pick a hero, pick a quote or make-up your own and use it as a mantra to fuel yourself when you’re training hard, because as silly as it may sound, positive self-talk and hard work will eventually get you up there with those super guys and gals!   Give it at least twelve weeks, stay the course and don’t wuss out like Aldrich Killian who chose the easy way, but instead work hard for those killer Pepper Potts abs and embrace and channel your inner badass like she did!  Like RubySlippers says “You’ve got this!”…unless you’re Trevor a.k.a. The Mandarin, who is a little too far gone yet brilliantly hilarious!

Note 2U:

Here are a few quotes to get your inner superhero-motivational juices flowing…If all else fails, nothing says badass like an Iron Man 3 limited edition watch!ironmanwatch

“Dreams save us. Dreams lift us up and transform us. And on my soul, I swear… until my dream of a world where dignity, honor and justice, becomes the reality we all share — I’ll never stop fighting” – Superman

“Who the hell do you think I am? I’m the goddamn Batman.”

“Warriors like us make our own destiny!” – Xena

“I can’t surrender… I don’t know how!”- Steve Rogers a.k.a. Captain America

“Of all people, you know who I am…who the world needs me to be. I’m Wonder Woman.”

“This looks like a job for…Superman!”

 “I am fire and life incarnate! Now and forever — I am Phoenix!” – Jean Grey

“There’s a dream I have from time to time. And in the dream I don’t stop…” – The Punisher

“By the power of Greyskull!  I have the Power!” – He-Man

“You think you can…turn me into a blubbering wreck…by preying on my fears…But I’ve already faced them–and come out the other side!” – Daredevil

“I’m warning you…don’t back me into a corner” – Catwoman

“You’re a machine! You’ve got this!!!” – #RubySlippers

“Unless you Puke, Faint or Die, Keep Going!” – Jillian Micheals

2 thoughts on “Channel Your Iron Man

  1. I just want to say I’m newbie to weblog and truly enjoyed this web-site. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You absolutely come with exceptional well written articles. Regards for sharing with us your web site.

    • Thanks for stopping by my blog and taking the time to comment. I’m a Newb as well when it comes to blogging, and it’s always nice to know when others enjoy what I’ve posted 🙂

Leave a Reply

