The Voice: Vote Michelle Chamuel!

Years ago I remember following along with the first few seasons of Survivor, and then the hype went away and so did my interest in reality TV.  Then came The Biggest Loser with Jillian Michaels and Bob who just reeled me in.  Granted my own weight battle also made this show a little more personal because it’s always great to see that with hard work anything is possible.  Even though I enjoyed TBL, the other music type reality shows like American Idol, Dancing with the Stars and even The Voice, usually didn’t keep me entertained for too long, and aside from Kelly Clarkson, I can’t really think of anyone whose talent has caught my attention, until now.

I will admit I started watching The Voice again because Shakira became one of the coaches.  She has been one of my favorite Latin artist since forever.  I love all of her old music and some of her new stuff, and I’ve seen her in concert, and get perhaps a little too excited when our Zumba instructor picks any Shakira song.  I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’m a HUGE fan of hers.  So it was only natural that I watch The Voice now that she’s on it.  Unbelievable how great she looks after having a baby, and how much her English has improved since that Laundry Service fiasco… but that’s another story.

Shakira may have been my primary motivation for watching the show, but she is not the reason I’m still following along every week.  The Voice is perhaps one of the few shows out there with the least amount of drama, and where there is more time dedicate to showcasing the voices of its contestants.  I know that everyone has their favorites and keep in mind that this is only my opinion, but to me, there is one artist on the brink of stardom on this show and her name is Michelle Chamuel!

Michelle Chamuel is definitely not what you’d expect when you first see her, which is another reminder that one should not judge a book by its cover.  MC has her own style and it’s great that she has a coach like Usher who embraces her quirks and differences.  She is not afraid to tell the world that she’s a nerd who loves to rock!  Her voice is out there, and has a quality to it that sets it apart from a lot of the other ‘main stream’ albeit beautiful voices on the show.  I think that what I like most about her performances is the fact that she’s just putting herself out there and not some diva stage persona, it’s that genuine too school for cool girl with the big glasses just rocking it out on stage that draws you deeper into the lyrics.  She embodies the idea that with talent, hard work, perseverance, and the right Ruby Slippers you can still make it in this world without losing yourself in the process.

The Voice: Team Usher Rocking Some Ruby Slippers!
(Photo Credit: Vedo The Singer Fan Page)

I have a feeling that The Voice is just the beginning for Michelle.  I would love to see her win it all, but if she doesn’t, I really believe that she’s got what it takes to make it big on the music scene, and I hope that there’s someone out there with the know-how and connections listening and waiting to help her make it happen.  Hopefully Ellen will also invite her on her show sometime soon, because if anyone has the Midas touch it’s Ellen!

If you haven’t seen MC perform, I’m leaving a few links to some of her stuff that I like at the end of the post.  One of my favorites has to be her rendition of True Colors, because the song itself and something in her voice reminded me of someone very special in my life who left this world too soon…I don’t have a Twitter account which usually is a good thing but today it’s too bad because I’d like to tweet @TheEllenShow to suggest getting MC on her show, and then I’d tweet Michelle @MichelleChamuel to thank her for singing in a way that spoke straight to my heart and reunited me with the beautiful memory of days I’ll never live again and a goodbye I’ll never get to say.

So I raise my glass to an awesomely talented self-confessed nerd and rising rock star and hope that America keeps voting for her!  Go MC, keep rocking girrrl!

I don’t own any of these videos but they’re all on youtube and MC a.k.a The Reverb Junkie  has plenty more from her days with My dear Disco/Ella Riot so check them out, and if you’re in the U.S. then vote for her!!! (www.thereverbjunkie.com)

2 thoughts on “The Voice: Vote Michelle Chamuel!

  1. Please tell me that youre heading to keep this up! Its so beneficial and so important. I cant wait to read far more from you. I just really feel like you know so considerably and know how to make people listen to what you’ve to say. This blog is just also cool to become missed. Great stuff, truly. Please, PLEASE keep it up!

    • I still have a long road ahead of me and a few more pounds to shed so I will definitely keep it up! Thanks for commenting it’s really encouraging to know people are reading and following along 🙂

Leave a Reply

