Week 9 Done!

cold1This weather is just all over the place.  One day it feels like summer and the next we’re back to contemplating wearing winter gear again.  This morning I was surprised to walk into the ice rink and find it warmer in there than outside, I actually had to take a few layers of clothing off to acclimatize.

MANLEY/BITES MEDALIt was odd not to see our great skate coordinator out on the ice, but then I remembered she’s at the National Coaching Convention & CanSkate Coach Universtity program rubbing shoulders with some of Canada’s exceptional skate coaches, skaters and of course the one and only Elizabeth Manley!  Whom she’s met before, and since the 1988 Olympics happens to be one of my all-time favorite skaters.  I’m jealous, but happy that we’ll all benefit from what she learns out there and of course look forward to hearing every little detail about the dinner with Elizabeth Manley 🙂

In the midst of my daydreaming I hear my ice coach talking to another skater and realize just how late I am.  I don’t know why it still takes me forever to lace up my skates and honestly I wish I could just have someone there to do it for me.  I finish with the laces and as I start to put on my gloves I sigh over the state of my hands.  I have calluses on my index fingers from tying my skate laces and small ones on my hands from lifting weights, this is the first time in my life that my hands look a little rough.  I’ve seen other hands in worst shape, and granted I only lift like baby weights in comparison with someone like RubySlippers, but still!  My hands have never been like this, and I’ve tried using gloves but it messes up my grip, so I’ve given up on them.   One of my friends says I should be proud and think of them as honor badges, I say I don’t want those badges on my hands Rawr!!!! I guess for now it’s back to intense moisturizing and sucking it up.

Well enough sad princess diary stuff, my hands are strong and can take one for the team.  So now it’s back to the grind.

On Today’s Menu:

  • RubySlippers says 7s
  • Squats
  • Squat Jumps
  • Push Press
  • Dead Lifts
  • Push-Ups
  • Sit-ups
  • Burpee Chin-Ups

Reps: IIII II

Rounds Completed: IIII IIII

Favorite words of the day: #You’re a machine! #Take a break #Poor bayybeee! #Where’s the machine?  #You’ve got this girl!  #Last one!

Side Effects:  #Exhaustion #Am I broken?

Pros:  #I managed not to puke #Completed twice the amount of rounds from a few weeks back  #Getting stronger 4Sure #May be less of Walker Bait #Hopefully not Otis #RubySlippers treats me to brief synopsis of Vampire Diaries #OMG we’re like little 16 year old girls!?! #No, no more!  #I’ll stick to The Big Bang Theory re-runs #May even re-watch Friends/Seinfeld/maybe a little MADtv too, but no vampire diaries! #Unless I get really really bored, then maybe…only maybe…

 Cons:  #Only one week of PT left 😦

Post-Workout:  Cycling Sprints.

Last Thoughts: After next week I will have to be accountable to myself, no more personal training…but right now I’m just so darn hungry!

Note to self:  Stay focused, keep trying to make healthier choices and keep training hard.  Also, keep blogging as it will be another motivator to stay on top of things.

My Challenge 2U:

  • I can’t stress it enough be good to yourself!
  • Do good
  • Start and End your day with a smile, even if you don’t feel it, it will put some of those 43 facial muscles to work, and you’ll end up laughing at how silly it is so it’s win-win 🙂
  • Stay active!
  • Challenge yourself to drink water instead of any other drink with every meal
  • Don’t skip breakfast, if you’re in a hurry then at least make yourself a shake to go
  • Get a good night sleep

Note 2U:

Nobody said this was going to be easy, but you’ll get stronger and better every day, so don’t quit!  Don’t underestimate yourself, and definitely don’t compare yourself to others it will suck the joy out of your life.  Live your life in pursuit of happiness, embrace change and adjust accordingly.

Like RubySlippers says:  “You’ve got this!”

2 thoughts on “Week 9 Done!

  1. Thank you. This is a fantastic post in which I was able to pick up some great golden nuggets. I look forward to seeing more from you in the future!

Leave a Reply

