DOMS!

I’ve been trying to ease back into my workouts and started out with Zumba on the first day.  I thought I would just give my body a day or two to acclimatize to more movement than is required on a hammock by the beach.  Then yesterday I for some inexplicable reason decide to do a leg workout.  What was I thinking?

legdayparking

Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness

Oh, yes, I remember now.  I was thinking that on my next trip when the dolphins launch me in the air it would be nice if my legs were stronger to go a little higher before coming crashing down into the water.  So, leg day seemed like a good idea at the time, but this morning well not so much.  I’m in pain and could feel way more muscles than usual as I dragged myself out of bed and then of course the agony of going down all those stairs just to get some breakfast.  I honestly considered skipping it and just taking a free day to fake sleep it away.

However, I know all too well that the longer I stay inert the longer the muscle soreness will stay.  So I’ve decided I’ll go for a swim in the warm salted-pool at the gym and reminisce about the ocean.  Hopefully I won’t get too depressed and just focus on visualizing my next vacation 🙂

On Yesterday’s Menu:

  • Split Squats
  • One Legged Deadlifts
  • Side Lunges
  • Squats
  • Butt Master
  • Leg Press

Reps: 12,10,8,6

Side Effects:

Repeat it til you Believing it!

Repeat it till you Believe it!

On Today’s Menu:

  • Swimming

Final Thoughts:  Can’t wait to dive into that warm water!

Note 2 Self:

Self, next time you get back from a gym hiatus give yourself a week before you jump into a full leg workout.

Note 2U:

Keep moving forward and stay the course!  I know it’s hard and I know it’s so easy to get sidetracked and distracted by life, but taking better care of yourself and your body is the best thing you can do for yourself and for those around you.  How great you feel about yourself depends on you and the effort you put into yourself and trust me it will spread to other aspects of your life.

Embrace change and the positive people in our life, take a few steps back or a full break  from the Debbie Downers and other negative people who suck the joy out of life.  There are some things that you just can’t fix so accept it and move on, find what makes you happy.

Remember, you can't help others if you pass out!

Take care of yourself because you can’t help others if you pass out!

If you’ve ever been on an airplane you know that there’s that safety briefing at the beginning of the flight where they tell you about the oxygen masks that will drop down in case of an emergency…Well I’ve heard it so many times that sometimes I wish they would skip it.  But I’m glad they don’t because safety is very important and it also reminds me of something that applies to life in general.  Many things have changed over the years but one thing that stays the same is that they specifically tell you to put your own mask on first and then help your children or others in need of assistance.  The point is that if you’re not o.k and you pass out then you can’t help others.  So my challenge to you is to work on YOU, be the best YOU possible then it’ll be much easier to help others, to lead by example and to inspire positive change.

It won’t be easy, it’ll require lots of hard work and sacrifices.  You’ll stumble, you’ll fall, you’ll sweat, you’ll curse, you’ll cry, you’ll hurt, you might even bleed, you’ll consider quitting but don’t!  Don’t quit, don’t give up because when you come out at the other end of all that hard work, you’ll be stronger and better than you ever imagined!  It’s like RubySlippers says:  “You’ve got this!”

Leave a Reply

