Throw Some Nikes On & Run!

I recently survived my first in real life over two minutes running experience.  All I can say is that if you’re a fan of The Walking Dead and or believe that there is the slightest chance that a Zombie Apocalypse might occur, then you for sure need to start running outdoors now.

My friends AG & Sir Charles in action mode

My friends AG & Sir Charles in action mode

We’ve had some really hot and humid weather lately and I’m not complaining but lets just say I didn’t pick the best of days for my initial run.  As some of you might know from previous post, my friend AG & her pup Charlie have been running for a while now and have invited me on several occasions to tag along, but until now I hadn’t mustered up the courage to die of exhaustion publicly after two minutes of running.  However, I do believe that RubySlippers is right when she says you should practice what you preach.

Since I recently coaxed my friend KB to challenge her fear of classes at the gym and venture into the world of Zumba, I thought it was about time I faced my own fear of running outdoors.  So I walked over to AG’s house which if we trust the map on my iPhone is a 2.3 Km walk and then we took off for my initiation run.  As AG and Charlie took the lead I started questioning my sanity for being out in this crazy weather.  Sure enough my lungs started burning, and that little voice in the back of my mind started saying that all too familiar “I can’t do this”.

As I looked ahead and saw AG running with Charlie in tow, I realized that I had two choices. A) Quit right then and there and head back or B) Tell that little lying voice to shut up and keep running!  As I struggled with the decision I saw Charlie turn his head to check up on me a couple of times and his fury little face sealed the deal.  I chose option B!

I’m glad I did because although the weather was crazy and I had to take two walking breaks throughout the run, we finished our 2.5 mile trek.  I’m proud to say that I did not pass out, puke or resort to having Charlie carry me home.  I was however out of breath, half dead, covered in sweat and surprise surprise hungry!

So after giving Charlie the opportunity to take care of some big business, and my close encounter with a garden snake who rubbed my Nikes as it slithered away in the tall grass, AG got us both a treat.  An ice cube for Sir Charles and a 70 calorie Creamsicle pour moi!  I’m not really sure which one of us was happier 🙂

After lots of water & our treats,  AG did give me a ride home to make sure I didn’t pass out on the way back, but overall we got a great workout!  And to my surprise we discovered that in real life I can actually run a mile under 12 minutes…yes!!!!  So thanks AG & Charlie for an interesting first run you guys are awesome 🙂

A glimpse of a black with yellow stripes garden snake slithering away beneath the tall grass and weeds...scared us

A glimpse of a black with yellow stripes garden snake slithering away beneath the tall grass and weeds…scared us

Final Thoughts:

The closer you get to your ideal weight, the harder it is to shed those last 10-15 lbs because your body is stronger and adapts so much.  So don’t be afraid to try new things, challenge yourself and changes things up to keep your body guessing.  Keep moving forward and training hard!

Note 2U:

Remember that that little voice in your head that says “I can’t” is just a big liar!  You can do this and more.  So try something new for a change run, cycle, swim or take up a group exercise class like box or Zumba.  Don’t be intimidated by the fitness level of others in the class or by all the mirrors around you, everyone is different and we all have to start somewhere.  So help yourself, don’t sell yourself short and don’t ever quit because it’s like RubySlippers says:  “You’ve Got This!”

4 thoughts on “Throw Some Nikes On & Run!

  1. Hello very nice website!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .
    . I will bookmark your website and take the feeds also?
    I am glad to search out a lot of useful information here in the publish, we need develop
    extra techniques on this regard, thank you for
    sharing. . . . . .

  2. I think this is among the most important info for me.

    And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The web site style is great,
    the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

