Being Human

DSC00713I live, I love, I laugh, I cry, I hurt, I help,I feel, I try; I am human. Some days things are great and others not so much. Sometimes like today I feel overwhelmed, angry, tired, and slightly dejected. On days like today I shy away from mirrors, and wish that I could eat every chocolate &  sweet in sight and blame it all on PMS. Alas it isn’t so, and I know that eating away my problems will only add unwanted weight to the mix. So I’m faced with two choices I can either wallow in self-pity indefinitely or choke back that crazy urge to cry and figure out what’s really going on.

I’ll be honest, I’ve tried the Grinch’s approach of 4 o’clock wallow in self pity; 4:30 stare into the abyss and it turns out that it’s just depressing and futile.  So, after that bout of trial and error I discovered that those off days and their brood of untamed emotions are simply my body’s way of letting me know that I need a break from my routine.

Knowing this helps me take a step back to regroup and focus on what I can do to improve things while at the same time accepting and dealing with the things and issues I cannot change.  It also allows me to regain control of the situation at hand and switch things up, because forming healthy habits is a good thing, but falling into a stagnating routine isn’t unless of course you enjoy the zombie-like approach to life.

Remember that nothing changes if nothing changes, so listen to your body, it’s a highly sophisticated machine and it wouldn’t hurt you to be in tune with it.  You are human and being human means that you come with some quirks and flaws included but no user manual.  So it’s okay if you don’t have all the answers and feel overwhelmed on an off day or two, just make sure you use them wisely to dust yourself off and refuel so that you can bounce right back on board the happy train!  However, if you feel like you can’t tread water anymore and are on the verge of drowning in your feelings & problems, then by all means don’t be afraid or too proud to ask for help.

As for me, well, since the beach day plans fell through, I may just have to take a 2.3 Km walk (each way) and eat a portion controlled meal (a.k.a. Happy Meal) @ McD’s.  If I’m lucky I’ll get the minion toy I really want (yes, I’m five, don’t judge me!) and this might make me happy 😛

2 thoughts on “Being Human

    • Thanks Katy! Yes, sometimes life happens, so you have to learn to roll with it and not get bogged down too much because it has a way of turning out in the end. As for the Grinch, I ❤ the book, cartoon & some quotes from the people movie so it just had to be said 😎 BTW Good luck with the wonders of college, it truly is a great experience so enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

