Happy Meal

Happy Meal

Is it just me, or does food taste better when someone else prepares it???

I was on my way home today and missed my bus. Which usually means a 40 minute wait. As I was deciding what to do, the thought crossed my mind…well actually the thought is always on my mind but more so I remembered that there’s a McDonald and a Burger King down the road, which is a 15 minute walk.

Usually this is a no brainer, and my feet are way ahead of me walking in the golden M’s direction. But this week, I’ve been making an effort to drink more water and eat less junk. Because I have a birthday to attend tomorrow and let’s just say it will be a big cheat meal.

So as the fat child in me stood there brooding, I tried to drown that urge to give in with some music and an apple I had left over from lunch.

I tried to convince myself that it was as even more delicious than a Starbucks cookie, but really I wasn’t kidding anyone, Especially not my inner fat child.

My decision not to eat fast food today was a difficult one to stick to considering I go by countless fast food places on my way home among them 3-4 McD’s depending on which bus I choose to take.

Nonetheless, today it paid off. Because since I hadn’t had dinner yet, I was treated to a deliciously healthy meal, which totally tasted like happy. So in the end I guess I ended up having a happy meal after all 🙂

Note 2U:
Each day you have the choice to make changes to your life. You have the opportunity to better yourself. So seize each day and live it well! Make one healthy choice a day. Cut back on junk food, one day at the time until you wean yourself off.

For some eating healthy comes easy. For others like this cookie fiend, it’s much harder. The important thing is to keep at it, and never ever give up!  Because it’s like RubySlippers says:  “You’ve got this!”

Leave a Reply

