The Hardest Thing

The Hardest Thing

As I sat there knowing I couldn’t have another one, a song came on my play list. I don’t really want to admit publicly that I have 98 Degrees on my play list, but what can I say they were one of the million 1D-ish boy bands of my teenage years…

So there, I’ve said it, somewhere between Ricky, Shakira, Pitbull, T-Swift, Hendrix, Nirvana and yes ‘N Synch too, came ♪♪♫The hardest thing I’ve ever had to do♪♪♫

As a sign maybe or an ode to one of my favorite sinfully delicious go-to picks at Mcd’s. So appropriate that it would start playing as my non-existing willpower was giving in *LOL* I keep asking myself if I’ll ever get the upper hand on this life long battle with food-addiction. Because when you think about it, that’s what this really is. Some of us unbeknownst to ourselves are food/sugar junkies and unless we come to terms with it and commit to a real change, we will continue to shave years from our life expectancy.

To be honest, I’d rather add years to it, and I’m sure many of you would to. There’s too much to do, and live for and so as much as I struggle with it, I’m not giving up on taming my strong willed inner fat child. Hopefully I’ll be able to do it under the 35 year mark that it took Nyad to reach her life long dream 🙂

Final Thoughts:
On September 21st 2013, I’m officially embarking on what I like to think of as a 12 week detox journey. For those 12 weeks I’ll be giving up fast food and all those sweets and treats I crave. I’ll give up my cheat day and replace it with a cheat meal only. All this in support of my brother’s weight loss challenge competition.

He’s determined to show me that if he can transform his body in 12 weeks, then I can break through my weight plateau as well. I’ve seen him do it before and win first place at our gym, so I have no doubt that it can be done. Still I’m scared, because it’s a battle I’ve been fighting all my life and usually come up short. But now we’re adding a little sibling rivalry to the mix and so I have no choice but to say GAME ON!

My Challenge 2U:
Mark down September 21st on your calendar and join us for a 12 week challenge! Weigh yourself in that morning and mark it down. Then for 12 weeks, give up fast food and junk food and commit to some form of exercise routine 3 times a week. It can be a simple as walking 30 minutes a day 3 times a week for 12 weeks. Then 12 weeks later, as your loose clothes speak for themselves, weigh yourself and share your results with us.

It may sound easy, but trust me, if you’re a carbo/sugar-holic like this cookie fiend, it’s a huge challenge. So join us!

4 thoughts on “The Hardest Thing

Leave a Reply

