Insidious 2

Insidious

Those of you who read my previous post, know that Sunday was movie day and also an attempt to break from my no social life pattern. I’ve recently made a new friend who happens to be an old childhood friend of one of my brothers, which makes this so totally random. It’s also proof that it’s a small world. Because what are the odds that I would meet someone who is pretty cool and laid back, befriend them and then find out they know my brother.

I don’t know about you guys, but I always get kinda nervous when I get friends from different places together at an event or outing. Ideally I’d love for all my friends to be friends which each other, but that doesn’t always work out. So I was pleasantly surprised when in spite of my brother’s antics, we all ended up enjoying the movie and having a few laughs afterwards.

At the end of the day, the best part of having friends is knowing that they still like you in spite of all the silliness. But just to make sure things didn’t get too out of hand for those who are oblivious to social queues, we’ve decided on a code word. Quesadilla or wait was it Unicorn? Nah! With a group of carboholics like us I think Quesadillas is easier to bring up in conversation….darn now I’m hungry! Story of my life! *LOL*

As for the movie, well, what can I say? It was creepy, had all sorts of special effects, sounds and all those things that might keep some people from sleeping or being in a room with a closet. So if you enjoyed the conjuring you might like the second installment of Insidious.

Aside from all the scary stuff, it also says a lot about friendship and family dynamics, ranging from the good, the bad and the utterly disturbing.  Some parts of this movie also seemed like a rehashed/revamped clip borrowed from the 80’s Poltergeist and other time traveling  and horror movies. Overall, Insidious 2 is better than most horror sequels because it’s carefully crafted and embedded with subtle clues that become clearer as the story progress and leaves those viewers who’ve watched both parts with a cohesive narrative.

I wish I could tell you that James Wan wrapped it up nicely, but you know how these stories go in Hollywood. It seems that in the movie industry, there’s always room for part III…So, before I spoil the ending or any part in-between for those of you who haven’t seen it yet, I’ll just code word myself to stop Quesadilla! Quesadilla!

P.S.
It will all make sense once you watch the movie, so be brave and check it out!

SPOILER ALERT!!!

bridesmaids-movie-quotesThose of you out there who saw Bridesmaids will remember Helen Harris and her horrible behavior towards poor Annie.  As such you might agree that the Insidious ghost lady symbolically evened the score between Annie & Helen when she B*slaps Rose Byrne who plays Renai in this movie…just saying.

Leave a Reply

