Hunger Games

Hunger Games

Hey, so yesterday was September 21st and for those of you who marked it on your calendar, it was also the first day of our 12 week challenge a.k.a Hunger Games πŸ˜₯

But no, seriously this is a great thing, this is a good thing and I/we should be excited about taking charge of what we fuel our bodies with. However, breaking-up with something we love is never easy. Especially when it’s so sweet and comforting… 😦 I miss you already Dr. Pepper!!!

As some of you know, Sundays are like my favorite day of the week. Today however, is going by so slow, and I really really want it to be Sunday 12 weeks from now, but now! Did I mention this is just day 2??? Oh boy, it’s going to be a long week. I know that it won’t be easy. I apologize in advance to those of you who know me IRL, as I will most likely be insufferable for the first few weeks. Okay fine I’m not going to lie it will probably be more like for the first 8-10 weeks, so please bare with me. Remember that I’m not myself when I’m hungry, and whatever you do, don’t feed me Snickers or past 7pm.

For those of you who are in this challenge with me, know that I feel your pain already. If you’re laughing because it’s going great so far…just wait for it…the sugar/carb withdrawal will kick in, then by all means tell me all about it. We’ll get through this, so don’t quit on me okay? I like the idea that others are in this struggle with me. Also remember that we’re doing this based on an honor system, so don’t lie to yourself. The scale, our clothes and the responses from the people we know won’t lie in 12 weeks.

Just a few things to keep in mind:

  • Contrary to what my melodramatic post title says, this 12 week challenge is not a starving game.
  • It’s a challenge to detox from all the processed/junk food we consume
  • It’s about kicking the sugar habit to the curve (well except for the guilt-free Sunday cookie or your ONE and ONLY ONE cheat meal a week)
  • It’s about making healthier choices
  • It’s about bringing balance to your diet
  • Keep in mind that ‘diet’ is not a bad word it simply refers to what you eat
  • So make what you eat count
  • If you get hungry throughout the day, then eat more fruits and vegetables
  • If you’re thirsty, then drink more water
  • If you’re bored, sad, depressed, tired, can’t sleep, then workout!
  • Plan your meals, prep your food ahead of time, this will help.
  • Get rid of the junk in your cupboards, fridge, freezer, desk drawer or wherever else you stash what you’re not supposed to be eating.
  • Don’t buy junk food, if it’s not there, then you won’t eat it.
  • Tell your peeps about your challenge, you’ll be surprised how supportive people can be.
  • Don’t get mad at them when they call you out as you reach for that cookie you’re not supposed to have. Say thank you. Take a few deep breaths and repeat to yourself…I’ve got this, I’ve got this, I’ve got this!!!
  • If you feel like ranting, feel free to share on this blog. Be warned that I will, especially on days when people eat forbidden deliciousness near me πŸ˜•
  • Believe in yourself!
  • Don’t quit! Because it’s like RubySlippers says: “You’ve got this”!!!
  • And the results you ask? Well, it’s like Barney says if we don’t cheat and stick with it the results will be…wait for it…..LEGENDARY!
2 thoughts on “Hunger Games

Leave a Reply

