Pacquiao vs Rios

ImageWell, winter is finally here.  It has been snowing and snowing and snowing and I’ve been procrastinating so the snow has been adding up.  But after the city plough so graciously dumped a huge pile of snow right outside our driveway on its way by, we figured it was time to get to it.

So my brother and I headed out, shovels in hand to clear our driveway and side walk.  Lucky for us we have a really nice neighbor who had already cleared one side of the sidewalk so it was just a matter of getting through the mountain of snow in the driveway.  I had forgotten what a workout shoveling snow can be.  I have to admit that at first, the lazy in me, considered calling a snow removal service…but then I decided that since I haven’t been to the gym in a few days, then I probably should do it myself.

We’ll see how I feel about it tomorrow when the aches in my arms and shoulders remind me of the shoveling 🙂  It’s not what I envisioned doing this lovely Sunday but given this circumstances it had to be done.  Still, snow and all, I can’t complain, Sundays are after all my favorite days.

I will however head to bed early this Sunday as I’m unusually tired.  I wonder if it has anything to do with the late night/early morning Pacquiao vs. Rio fight that I just had to watch?  You see boxing has always been one of those sporting events that bring my family together.  Since we’re Pacman fans of course we had to watch and see if he still had it in him to keep fighting. Or if it was time throw the towel in and exit ala golden boy style.  To be honest, after his last fight and loss to Marquez, we just didn’t know what to expect.  But like most fans, you watch and cheer and hope for a win.

Sure enough, Pac-Man Pacquiao did not disappoint!  Not only did he face Rios, a much younger opponent, but he did so for a full 12 Rounds.  And that ladies and gentlemen is no easy feat!  As Freddie Roach himself said at one point to Pacquiao in his corner:  “Beautiful boxing…”.  So you see, it was well worth the late night.  Not only did I get to spend quality time with my family, but we got to enjoy one of our favorite sporting events and watch our fave boxer take home a win!  Overall win-win!

Pac-Man’s fight reminded me of a few things…

  1. Sooner or later you’ll get K.O. ed (hopefully only figuratively), but the important thing is that you get back up
  2. You’re stronger than you think.
  3. You win some, you lose some.  But if you give up and stop fighting for what you want, then all you’ll do is keep losing.
  4. Keep your friends and family close.  Because win or lose they will always be in your corner.
  5. Don’t let fear of failure stop you from trying again and again until you succeed
  6. Take a break if you need to. Regroup. Train harder. Just don’t give up!

Wishing you all an awesome week!  Let’s start this week with positive thoughts, random acts of kindness, and a good workout!

Leave a Reply

