Winter Blues

Winter is here and with it comes that initial wave of winter laziness.  The sun sets way to early, and by the time I leave the office, it’s already dark outside.  To be honest, the last thing I want to do is make my way to the gym in the dark.  Especially when the idea of watching mind numbing t.v. shows, which shall not be named here, wrapped up in a warm blanket with a cup of warm peppermint hot chocolate is so much more appealing.hotcocoa

If I added a few cookies to that warm cocoa, it would be even better.  Aww the cookie monster dream indeed!  Alas, I know where overindulgence leads, and I know one should never say never.  But if I can help it, then I NEVER EVER want to go back to wearing my old fat pants because I like the idea of fitting into single digit sized pants.  I am by no means a size zero, nor will I ever be, because it’s not a healthy aspiration.  But those 30+ pounds I’ve shed over the past year, were not healthy on my body either.  At the end of the day it all comes down to making better choices.  Which ultimately leave me at a crossroads.  On one side I have this thing where I loooooove food, and on the other hand this knowledge that I need balance if I want to be healthy.eating-favorite-parts

As I’ve said many times before, I am work in progress.  I am healthier than I’ve ever been in years, but there is still work to be done, and as for the winter blues…in the words of RubySlippers:  “Ain’t nobody got time for that!”.  So I’ve decided I won’t complain about the snow, or the cold.  Instead I’ll bundle up, put my big girl boots on and continue to trek along to the gym.

Over the past few weeks I’ve been in “maintenance” mode.  Basically 3 times a week of either Zumba or Spinning, which I`m thankful for because they keep me engaged and comfortably fitting into my clothes 🙂  However, there`s still work to be done before Cancun 2014.  Which means that soon the weight room and I will have to get reacquainted 😦 but it has to be done 😎

On This Week`s Menu:

  • Adding one more workout day
  • Getting back to post-workout rowing
  • Attempting a RubySlippers full circuit
  • Adding a mid-week blog post to let you know how that goes (and maybe talk about The Hunger Games…)
  • Being thankful for what I have

My Challenge 2U:

  • Be thankful
  • Be kind
  • Hope
  • Dream
  • Train hard
  • Enjoy the life you have, and keep working hard to get the life you want!
Leave a Reply

