Calm before the storm

This week is just getting started and already I’m stressing over how I’m going to get everything done.  So before I break out into a panic attack, I’ve decide to do two things.  One take a few minutes to myself to simply be and breathe.  Two, take some time to challenge my body in hopes that the physical exhaustion brings clarity to my mind.

The first part is easy, breathing exercises usually just make me want to take a nap, so I enjoy them.  It also loosens up my neck muscles which seem tense as of late.  The second part is a bit of a challenge, especially because I don’t want to overdo it before Tuesday`s group class with RubySlippers.  Yes, you read correctly, I`m back to training with the one and only drill sarge…I mean RubySlippers.  To prepare, I dragged myself to the gym a few times last week, and I have to admit I`m a little scared.  I`m not sure if the new Zumba playlist requires more intense movement or if I’m simply out of touch.  What I do know is that I was completely out of breath after Friday night’s class and that is not a good omen.

The good thing is that RubySlippers knows where I live so if worst comes to worst she can make sure my post-workout passed-out self gets home after her class.  I`m keeping my fingers crossed and hoping she`ll take it easy on the first class, but I doubt it.  She seems to enjoy the pain I experience during our workouts together, when she says it`s just my fat crying as it leaves my body.  Newsflash, my fat is not the only thing crying!

Still I keep going back, partly because I know she`s right and the other part because I suspect I was dropped on my head as an infant…why else would I like and befriend someone who pushes me so hard?!?

Normally I would say..

.Image

But today, I have decided to try to make it to Zumba and just unwind.  To jump around in the crowded class, and not care how goofy I look trying to follow along the choreos of all the new songs…for those of you who are familiar with my blog you’ll now I look a little lost the first seven day…uh I mean months of the new songs and then as I get comfortable they change them on me.

Changes and all I love my Zumba class, even if RubySlippers mocks it.  I enjoy it because it’s fun and a great gateway to an active lifestyle.  With Zumba class I don’t have to worry about how I look or how the Latin rhythm gene skipped me, because apparently it also skipped a whole bunch of other people and regulars in the class who don’t seem to care either.  The only real downside to Zumba is these small quirks we regulars tend to develop…where we don’t like it when others get there earlier and take our spots…..nooooooooooooooooo! 😦  #problemsofazumbaregularzumba-place

On Today’s Menu:

  • Zumba

On Tomorrow’s Menu:

  • The return of RubySlippers

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

