Zumbies

Zumbies

As those of you who have been following my blog for sometime know, my friend A.G is getting married this summer. As such everyone is in workout mode. Although, we’ve both been working on fitness and keeping the weight we’ve lost off, it still is a struggle.

A.G’s motivation is a little more powerful than mine, as she has a dress to fit into…Still, the thought of me in a bathing suit should also motivate me to NOT skip workouts, and yet it doesn’t quite do the trick. This cold Canadian weather, ideal for warm sweatpants and big fluffy sweater can easily make you lose your focus and fall back into complacency…

So to avoid spiraling down the path I was on before, I’ve really had to dig very deep for motivation.  You know it’s bad when you start making excuses to miss your favorite Zumba class.  Still, there was one thing that had kept me coming to class and that is trying to learn a little dance AG wants us to do at her wedding.  Of course knowing that it takes me at the very least 7 months of prep time, I’ve had to keep going to Zumba.  Still, I have to say my progress was not looking promising at all.

I was however hopeful that once I pulled off AG’s belated Christmas surprise, things would improve.  Since AG reads my blog I hadn’t really been able to write about our secret plan to surprise her with a private Zumba lesson from our amazing instructor.  The plan was to have some of her closest friends get together and practice the song she wants us to perform at her wedding.  I’m happy to say that after months of schedule conflicts and cancellations we managed to pull it off.

Our turnout was not as expected but it was actually just the right size 🙂  AG’s face was priceless as she saw our Zumba instructor in the lobby of her building.  Total #fangirl moment.  It took her a few moments to figure out what was going on, but from then on she couldn’t really hide her excitement (and I have pictures and video footage to prove it).  I honestly couldn’t stop laughing when I started sending her the pics and video, because through most of her still shots she’s got the hugest smile!

In her own words, she was star struck, and I believe her.  You see AG loves taking selfies and for her to shy away from her phone, well it takes a lot.  In all honestly her crush level was comparable to that of a fan girl meeting Zac Effron, except she was trying to contain it and not appear too creepy, but the smile said it all lol!  We had a pretty great time, discovered that our Zumba instructors call our group their Zumbies, and also confirmed without a doubt that AG’s is without a doubt a solid Jenna Marble level 1 girl crush 🙂

So as I struggle through these next few weeks battling my eating habits, and crushing my excuses not to go to the gym, I’ll hold on to the fun times of Zumba, AG’s surprise, RubySlippers’ advice and remind myself why I’m doing what I do.  Motivation you see is the biggest part of it all and you have to make sure that no matter what anyone says you personally convince yourself that you are worth it!  That you are important and that you deserve to work on yourself, to improve and to train hard everyday to be the person you dream of being.

The truth is, it won’t be easy.  It won’t happen overnight.  There will be struggles, you will lose some battles, but if you stay the course, get back up, and keep at it, you will win the war against your fears, and that little voice in your head saying I Can’t.  If you ever feel like giving in or giving up, please don’t, just keep going because it really is like RubySlippers says: “You’ve got this!”

Leave a Reply

