Vivofit by Garmin

Hello, it’s been a while.  So much has happened since my last post that I really don’t know where to start.  RubbySlippers is off to another adventure and has once again left the gym.  I can still count on her to tell text me supportive messages like “Give up your five-year-old sugary cereals” and “you’ve got this”, but of course it’s not the same as having her around to keep me on the straight and narrow path of fitness…The struggle is real.

Since RubbySlippers is no longer around, and since I no longer have a gym membership, I’ve decided to finally put my Vivofit by Garmin to good use.  I’ve had it for a while but to be honest up until now, it’s mainly served as a watch.  But this week I’m setting new goals, one of which is to actually start ranking in their step challenges.  Looking back on the last few month of the app, one thing stands out from all the graphs…and although it’s something my clothes have been screaming for a while, seeing the numbers really makes me realize that I need to get moving.  It’s especially troubling that on a daily basis I don’t really even get 10 000.  This wouldn’t be so bad if I were making better food choices, but since I haven’t been for a while, it just makes matters worst.

But like Dr. Oz says, your GPS doesn’t berate you if you make a wrong turn, so you shouldn’t berate yourself either.  Instead, adjust your course and get back on track.  So here is my personal challenge for the next month:

1-  At least 10 000 Daily Steps on my Vivofit

2-  Make my own breakfast each morning

3-  Drink more water

4- Create a healthy portioned snack bin for home and for the office to keep cravings at bay

5- Join a local rec sports league

Other than bubble soccer and my 10Km the past April, I haven’t been very active, so I know I have to get back to making small but sustainable changes…and yes, gradually work in some burpees into the mix.

I know it will take time, and it won’t be easy, but I also know first hand how great it feels to feel comfortable in your own skin, and not out of breath after a flight of stairs.  So it’s back to basics for me and I’m counting on the Vivofit community to keep me challenged and accountable.

Thanks for reading and being part of this cookie fiend’s journey!

Until next time

Leave a Reply

