The Truth

Well, it’s been a while and truth be told there are a lot of cookie crumbs behind my absence. I promised myself when I first started this blog that it would be a tool to keep me accountable, but also honest about my journey.

And, let me tell you my journey has winding roads and curves…sometimes more curves than I would like, but at the end of the day this is something no one else can do for me.  People can encourage, motivate, and even scare me into working out and getting better, but it will never be a lasting change until I find something that works for me and I embrace it for me, not for anyone else, but simply for me.

This business of being a carbo-holic, addicted to the deliciousness of breads and all the deliciousness of food, really is hard to kick to the curb.  Some of you know this all too well.  It’s that ephemeral taste of happiness as you sip on an ice cold Coca Cola on a hot summer day, the anticipation before the first sip of that heavenly Slurpee, the tingling of your taste buds before you take the first bite of a sinfully delicious slice of cake…just the thought of that frosting…  And of course for those of us who struggle with out weight there is always that mental battle and the bout of self-loathing that follows that clandestine cheeseburger or the Taco Bell order you may or may not have secretly eaten in your car before heading home.

Then comes that moment anyone waging this battle with weight fears most of all.  You know what it is right?  Is that frightful moment when your jeans no longer fit, when you have to move up a size in yoga pants, or when places like the overpriced Lululemon just doesn’t cater to your size anymore.

Of course that’s when you have one of two choice.  One, you can level up in pant size(S) or two you can do something about it.  If you pick option one and you are still comfortable with yourself then that’s ok.  As long as you are comfortable in your own skin and make sure you are regularly checking with your doctor to ensure your habits are not putting you at risk for health issues later on.

If you’re an option two kind of cookiefiend, then that’s good too, just make sure you’re doing it for you.  Because you deserve it.  You deserve to get back up from your fall of the health train and because you want to go back to being comfortable in your own skin.  Also, it feels nice to be fit and make a conscientious choice shop or not to shop at Lulu’s anyway because maybe with a little work and effort on your part your petite body frame can get back to looking pretty darn good in non-see-through Under Armour, “““target or any other brand you choose to wear 🙂

Some Cookiefiends are awesome at this they just focus, and get crazy fast results, other like me tend to be a little slower at this because giving up cookies is as fun as doing burpees.  But, summer is hear, and what better time to get active and moving.

Close your eyes for a moment and think of the ideal you, the you you want to be, then think of all the things you want to do and places you want to see, and people you want to be around.  Your friends, your family, your friends’ super active baby twins you want to run around with and chase seagulls on the beach with, they can all be motivators in your life.

And don’t worry if you don’t have anyone around who is supportive of your journey to a healthier you, because the beauty of this day and age is that we’re all connected in some way, and if you ask, I am sure that more than one other fellow Cookiefiend will send kind thoughts and positive energy out into the universe for you.

We’re in this together, so let’s get back to it and get moving.  Remember it doesn’t have to be a crazy workout, you can start with a walk if you have a safe place to do so.  Or maybe you just do a few squats at home, a push-up or a plank and build up from there.

Also, don’t beat yourself up about where you are right now, instead use that energy to do one more push-up or a few more seconds on that plank so that Tomorrow You is proud of Yesterday You for making You better each day.

Well that’s it for tonight.  Being a night owl, I am starting this new challenge on Monday of getting up at 4:30 am for 21 days…it’s crazy I know! But it also means I have to challenge myself to get to sleep early and who knows, I might find the time to workout I keep telling myself I don’t have.

I’ll keep you posted on my 21 day challenge. I literally will since my sleep and wake-up time log starts on Sunday night…

 

Leave a Reply

