Round One

Round One

I’ve been away from my blog this week, because I wanted to spare you my sugar craving rantings. I haven’t been quite myself, and I’ve been whining about it all week. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it, but RubySlippers is back which is pretty cool! She actually just started training my brother and will be coaching him through his 12 week weight loss challenge. I unfortunately can’t afford personal training right now as I have a destination wedding to go to, so until I save enough for that, I’m left to my own devices…

Still, just because she’s not training me, doesn’t mean she doesn’t have advice to give me…or an opinion/comment/smirk about my tardiness to Zumba class. This past week as I struggled with my first week of healthy eating, she listened to me go on and on about how much I wanted cookies and really just sugar. Then she pointed out two things. One that this cookie monster theme seems to run in my family (so true). Two, that at the end of the day it’s all about self control (also true) and that I should let her know if I needed help with tackling my nutrition.

The thing with our conversation is that I know better, and I know that what she is saying is true. Unfortunately, as I went through old family photos with my mother and brother this weekend, I also confirmed the other sad truth. I have very little self control when it comes to food, and this is nothing new. I saw myself in those pictures through the years in different shapes and sizes. It also made me realize that I’m healthier and in much better shape than I was in some of my younger years. So if I want to keep it that way, then I really need to put all this self-pity aside and step-up.

As nice as RubySlippers’ intentions are, she can’t really help me right now. She’s an awesome trainer, but unless she can big brother style watch me 24/7 there’s no way she can help me tame this cookiefiend within. This is something that only I can do. Still, it’s great to know that I have a lot of support around me as I put behind me the first round in my 12 week challenge.

This past week was not easy, but I made it through without cheating. Granted I complained a lot, but hopefully that will wind down as the weeks progress. Here are a few things that helped keep me honest and on track:

1. I told people that I was doing a 12 week challenge
2. I got others around me to join me
3. I asked some of my friends and people I spend most time with to help me not cheat
4. I cleared the cupboards of junk ( yes, even that piece of white chocolate..saaaad!!!)
5. I prepped veggies and fruit, and bagged all my lunches
6. I made my own daily protein shakes
7. I drank water all week with the exception of my home made morning green juice
8. I worked out
9. I walked and made sure to take the stairs
10. Each time I said no to a treat I visualized my cheat meal

The Results:
1. Personal satisfaction of making it through round one of 12
2. Finally breaking through this weight plateau
3. Down 1.5 pounds this week 🙂
4. Being able to go out guilt free on Saturday and enjoy a nice walk, time and a sinfully delish slurpee with my friends on our way to a boxing event

Final Thoughts:
If you’re with me in this challenge and you’re struggling or cheated this past week, then that’s ok, don’t be too hard on yourself. I know it’s not easy. All I ask of you is to keep at it and not quit. It will get better! Remember that this challenge is not about starving yourself. It’s about making healthier choices. It’s about eating less processed junk, and more fruits and greens. It’s about drinking water and not soda/pop. It’s about being mindful of what you use to fuel your body. It’s about you taking ownership and control of YOU! So lets be as brave and tenacious as my friend C who so awesomely boxed his heart out this weekend!!! Let’s K.O. (Knock Out) these next 11 rounds! Because it’s like RubySlipper says: “You’ve got this!”

 

P.S.  Thanks for reading guys!  Your views, likes, shares & comments are really encouraging and totally make my day!

5 thoughts on “Round One

  1. Does this mean I have to train you because I’m withholding you from personal training sessions? If you move something on my mantle I could probably be a heck of a lot scarier than ruby slippers….. 😀 lol!!! What a great Saturday it was!

  2. I know it’s tough but congratulations on your progress! I’ve been trying not to eat sugar with you and aside from 2 frozen yogurts in the week I’m not doing that badly. It’s a lot easier for me considering that I go to school and the dining hall only really serves meals instead of things you can snack on

Leave a comment